Reviews

Reviewed On 9/07/2015 Stephanie W
Pam was an absolutely INCREDIBLE photographer. I cannot say enough about how wonderful she was in making our wedding photos exactly what we wanted. I had a very specific “vogue” style I wanted for my bridal portraits, and she was so helpful in creating a visual board for me before the shoot. She also hit the nail on the head during the shoot, and made it so easy for me to follow her creative thinking. We used the location in ways I would have never imagined and the pictures turned out unbelievable!! For our wedding, I can’t begin to describe how well she captured the emotions of the whole event. You can truly tell what everyone was feeling during each segment of the evening. She did a fabulous job capturing candid photos, as well as staged, all the while being in the background so we never even knew she was there. Our pictures are breathtaking and I am forever grateful we have them to remember our special day. Pam was so thoughtful and easy to work with. She knows how to direct a crowd, and a bride and groom to get amazing photos in efficient ways. I would use her again for absolutely any photo needs I have again. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!

Pam is amazing!

Reviewed On 10/30/2014 A R
I cannot recommend Pam highly enough. She is that rare combination—a very talented photographer and a wonderfully kind and caring person. She let our wedding be ours, and highlighted the quirky parts as well as the more traditional moments. She was always able to go with the flow and made everything feel easy. I actually enjoyed getting my photo taken when she was behind the camera—something I never thought possible. And then, we suddenly had so many gorgeous photographs—I still can’t believe how good she made us look that day. The photographer is possibly the most intimate vendor you will choose—they’re nearby at the big and special moments. Pam has a knack for making everyone feel comfortable, from my 90-year old grandma to my 9 year old stepson. Hire her—not only will you have stunning photographs, you’ll also get just the kind of cheerful, thoughtful person that you want at a wedding.

Driskill Wedding Photographer

Reviewed On 10/21/2014 Katherine B
Pam at a’la Vie photography is lovely to work with! She is so friendly and definitely someone you want to have by your side your entire wedding day. She is really open to any original ideas you may have (and also gets really excited about it!). She will also spend any amount of time with you before (and after) the wedding that you need! She is a true photojournalist in the sense that she really has an amazing ability to capture each and every special moment in such a unique way. I really felt like the true emotions and feeling of our wedding day was reflected in the photos. All of our photos are absolutely beautiful and it was impossible to narrow down to what we wanted to frame and use for our album! The one tip I would give to future brides is to communicate every detail that you want photographed to your photographer. There is so much going on during a wedding day and it makes it easier on the photographer to know what you absolutely want.

A’ La Vie Photography Was Amazing!

Reviewed On 10/20/2014 Kate M
If my best friend were getting married, I would recommend Pam Hults and A La Vie Photography in a heartbeat! Greg and I first spotted Pam’s work in a wedding magazine. One of her signature photos is of flower petals swirling around the couple – the swirling generated by the kids at the wedding – a beautiful shot that really captured our attention. When I read the credit for that photo, I was thrilled to learn that the photographer (in this national magazine!) – was based right here in Austin – and that she was actually available for our wedding date! Not only was her price reasonable (and more moderate than most), the quality of her photos was simply amazing. An added bonus was the fact that (other than during the formal group pictures of course) we hardly even noticed her during most of our wedding – she was there in the background making sure that she captured everything, but we were free to enjoy the day. She also worked extremely well with our videographer. And if that were not enough, it turns out that Pam is such an amazingly nice person that it felt like we had a friend doing the photography for our wedding – (but a truly expert friend)!!

Didn’t miss a moment

Reviewed On 9/24/2014 Lauren T
It was such a pleasure to work with Pam Hults of A la Vie Photography. When originally booking her services, we were so impressed with her extensive experience and training. She really pays attention to details about the special day and the couple. She captured every moment our wedding in the most elegant way. We are very happy with the timeless photos and will cherish them forever. I couldn’t say more good things!

All Around Awesome!

Reviewed On 10/16/2013 Shradha R
Pam and her husband shot both our Christian wedding at Lakeway Resort and our Hindu ceremony the following day. They were wonderful! I think an important part of the wedding day is liking your photographer since they’re gonna be near you throughout the entire day. Pam is so sweet and just a joy to be around. I honestly felt like she was a friend taking pictures and she made everyone feel so comfortable. Our pictures were so beautiful and they captured both ceremonies very well. I put a lot of effort into small details for the wedding and was really pleased to see that they had captured all of it. My favorites are the candid shots. Just looking through the pictures, we felt like we were right back at the party and it was so good to see pictures of everyone laughing and having a blast! I would not change a thing about our wedding and I am SOOOO glad we chose A la Vie Photography for our wedding weekend!

Absolute Best Wedding Photographer

Reviewed On 10/08/2013 Lauren Taylor W
Pam Hults is not only a remarkable photographer, but she listens to your ideas and works very hard to make sure she is following your desires to get the photos you want from your special day. Pam Hults made my daughter and her fiancé feel very comfortable beginning with their engagement photos and through out the wedding events. She listened carefully to what we wanted, and followed through. The photography was truly amazing. The photos were absolutely beautiful and everything we had hoped for. I would strongly recommend Pam Hults for any event; certainly she is a perfect wedding photographer. I believe she is underpriced considering the fine quality of her work!

Fabulous Photographer!

Reviewed On 10/02/2013 Kelly G
Pam exceed our expectations for a wedding photographer. She was there for all those important moments during the wedding, without being in the way. When we received our photos in the mail we were blown away with the quality and special memories she captured. We are so thankful we chose a good photographer for our wedding, it is sooo worth it to find a good one! Go with Pam and you will not be disappointed!

I couldn’t be happier with my wedding photos!

Reviewed On 9/30/2013 Darby
Pam Hults was an amazing photographer! She really has an eye for the perfect backdrop and settings. She knows exactly how to position everyone. She got all of the beautiful portrait shots I wanted and some great ‘fun’ pictures at the reception. She was also sure to photograph the rings, decor, and other misc items that I wanted to have for memories. She truly has talent and was very easy to communicate with before and after the wedding. She provided wonderful customer service and anyone would be lucky to have her as a photographer!

Hill Country Wedding

Reviewed On 9/30/2013 Lori G
We used Pam for our spring wedding in the Texas Hill Country. She was great to work with, fit well into our budget, and produced a lot of great photos. Use her.

The BEST Photographer

Reviewed On 9/02/2013 Stephanie S
We could not be more pleased with the photos that Pam took of our daughter’s wedding at The Driskill on August 17th! She is a talented photographer that goes above and beyond to capture the whole event down to the last detail. You don’t get the traditional, staged shots, but get ones that are unique, creative and fun. She knows the venue and gets the best shots. Our family and friends absolutely love the pictures! Pam is so personable and we all enjoyed working with her. If you want the BEST photographer for your wedding, you want to use Pam Hults.

We LOVED a laVie Photography

Reviewed On 11/07/2012 Amie D
I could not have asked for a better photographer for my wedding. Pam was wonderful to work with. She is professional but more than that she is personal. Pam didnt’ capture our wedding in pictures, she captured our story. I plan to use her in the future for family photos, the drive to Austin will be worth it to have her as our photographer!

Best Photographer Ever!

Reviewed On 11/06/2012 Christine C
Pam is the best photographer ever! She did an amazing job with our engagement pictures and our wedding! She is so easy to work with and does a wonderful job about capturing moments that really symbolize what we are like as a couple. Pam has truly captured the memories from one of the most special nights of my life.

Above and beyond!

Reviewed On 11/06/2012 Catherine W
Pam shot my June wedding at the Driskill and did such a beautiful job. Everyone loves the photos. She’s also incredibly kind and exactly the type of person you want to be a part of your day. Throughout the entire planning process, Pam went above and beyond to make all aspects go smoothly and to put me at ease. Our wedding is now a memory but in her photos, she truly captured the spirit and joy of the day!

Pam is the best

Reviewed On 11/06/2012 Stephanie T
Pam is literally the best wedding vendor I’ve worked with. We saw her portfolio and we knew that we just had to ask her to photograph our wedding. We have apparently made the right decision. Pam is very flexible in incorporating our request during our engagement and bridal session, and she was very, very easy to work with. During our wedding day Pam made sure that we got all the shots we wanted, and she definitely put extra effort to accommodate our requests. And her quality of work is very amazing. We got lots of compliments for our pictures with Pam, she definitely has the capability to capture emotions in people, and I am in love with her dramatic shots. I would definitely recommend Pam to everyone who’s looking for a wedding photographer. Planning a wedding can be a somewhat stressful experience, but working with Pam surely enlightened the stress and pressure as she is very friendly and easygoing, and I know that she would take care of everything we need in regard to photography.

Pam did a fantastic job capturing our big day!

Reviewed On 11/06/2012 Sally B
Our wedding coordinator (Barbara, from Barbaras brides) recommended Pam to us. We are residents of Houston and really relied heavily of recommendations and reviews from others. We initially used Pam to take our engagement pictures. Pam listened to us and really helped us select the venue in which we wanted to take our pictures. Our pictures turned out great and we decided to use her for our wedding which was in May at Lakeway Resort and Spa. For the wedding, Pam and her help arrived early and stayed until the very end of the reception. Pam and her team did a fantatic job capturing all the memorable moments of the evening. In addition, because our pictures turned out amazing we recently used Pam again for our family Christmas card picture. Yes….we drove from Houston to Austin just to have Pam take our pictures. Pam is an amazing photographer and we plan to use her for many more special events.

Awesome wedding photographer!!

Reviewed On 11/07/2011 Courtney C
After reading several great reviews about Pam Hults and a’laVie Photography, my husband and I were thrilled when we found out that she was available to photograph our wedding. From our first meeting with her, we felt extremely comfortable with Pam and absolutely loved her personality. She did an amazing job… our wedding photos came out wonderful! She was able to capture so many great moments throughout the day, which was very important to my husband and me. She is passionate about what she does, and it definitely shows in her work! We were extremely happy with everything and would highly recommend Pam Hults and a’laVie Photography to anyone who is looking for a fantastic wedding photographer!

Pam is AMAZING, we love her!!!!

Reviewed On 11/05/2011 Lauren F
My mom and I attended the Bridal Expo last January at the Weston at the Domain. There were alot of vendors and it was so crowded and busy, a bit overwhelming at times. My mom and I entered just a peaceful room and that is where we met Pam! We quickly got to know her, review her work and it was like we had been friends forever! I was so excited to make an appointment and knew that I had found my wedding photographer!!! Pam has various packages to choose from you can customize to get exactly what you want. I had Pam take engagement, bridal portrait and wedding day photos. It was so good to have these various sessions with Pam just to get to spend time with her and get to know her better. For the engagement photos it was the heat of July and she was wonderful, she sees a photo moment and captures it! Pam is an artist and it shows in all of her photos. For the Bridal portrait, Pam went above and beyond her photography duties and helped me get in my dress because my mom was running late due to her plane being delayed. Pam has great equipment and uses it to capture the moment and with the best light if its a shadow picture or not. (I am not a photographer so the wording is not official but I am describing the effects she did) After each session, Pam was very prompt to either mail or for the bridal session meet me twice at a Starbucks to give me the proofs and get my bridal portrait ready for my wedding in about a week. I would also like to mention that Pam is always on time and great at communicating. For my wedding day I wanted a photo-booth and we had discussed that previously. She provided herself, and her husband came to shoot my wedding (I told him that I love him because I love Pam!) What an awesome couple and it means alot for a couple to shoot the wedding…AMAZING! Pam was with me prior to the wedding and all night. I did not even realize at times that she was there but then when I did and seeing that familiar smile it was comforting . I give Pam Hults with a la vie photographer 5 stars and you will be so happy with working with her and she does amazing work! All of our pictures are the best pictures that I have of me and my husband. I can’t wait to get Pam to take family photos and baby photos in the future!!!!

Pam is the best!

Reviewed On 5/06/2011 Anna R
Pam came very highly recommended, and after seeing the her blog, I knew she was talented. It wasn’t until we met in person that I realized how great of a person she is. Our wedding had a few more events than the traditional wedding, and Pam was there to capture every moment. Her pictures for the nikkah, engagment, mehndi and the wedding are so beautiful and I’m so thankful she was there to capture such a special time in our lives. The funny thing is, now Pam and I randomly run into each other (usually at the spas around town), which is just more evidence that she will be in my life for years to come. Pam is great photographer and an even better person. You cannot go wrong by hiring her for your special day!

A La Vie Rocks!

Reviewed On 12/06/2010 Lynn B
I learned of A La Vie through a “Best of 2010” wedding vendors article in The Knot. What attracted me to Pam’s work initially is her ability to capture the emotions of the day through her photos. My husband and I felt very comfortable with her throughout the whole process, from the initial meeting to the wedding day. Pam is laid-back but professional, just the kind of person you want to be around on your big day. Our pictures turned out beautifully and we couldn’t be happier!

Pam Hults made all the difference!

Reviewed On 12/06/2010 Melissa R
Pam Hults is such an amazing photgrapher! From the moment we met I felt very comfortable with her. Her direction and laid back demeanor made for a very successful and fun bridal shoot. I am so grateful that I was put in touch with her because my wedding would not have been the same without her. The “formal” photos, the candids, and care she took in capturing all the details impressed me for days. Thank you Pam for making our “special” day so memorable with your special gift, your fun loving personality, and by truly loving what you do. It made all the difference 🙂

Great wedding photographer, Pam Hults of A la Vie

Reviewed On 11/05/2010 Leah W
I loved working with Pam and having her as my wedding photographer. I did not have a bad picture to speak of, and everybody that I showed my pictures to agrees. She is very pleasant, fun, professional, and creative. She and her shooting partner captured lots of great shots, and were never “in the way,” which I think is a very important quality for a wedding photographer to have. I would definitely work with Pam again in the future and would highly recommend her for any occasion requiring a professional photographer! Thank you Pam for capturing all of the wonderful moments that you did, it will help us to remember our big day for many years to come!

A real personal touch

Reviewed On 11/05/2010 Kristen E
I’ve had the pleasure of both professionally helping to plan other couple’s wedding’s, and recently planning my own wedding, and I always tell people that your wedding photographer is your most important choice. A good wedding photographer can bring out the best in you and your fiance, make whatever venue you choose look amazing, and really capture the true essence of your special event. There’s a lot of talent in Austin, and I’ve had the opportunity to see a vast array of wedding photos, but what made me choose Pam was her personal touch. She has the ability to really connect with the people she’s working with. My husband isn’t a big fan of having his picture taken, but Pam and her team were able to bring out qualities in him on film I get to see everyday. I felt like she was really invested in how everything was going, and she really sought my imput on what was important to me. As I look back through the pictures she took, there’s so much warmth, and love and fun she captured. She made our backyard wedding look like it cost a million bucks 🙂 I highly recommend A La Vie photography- she will help you capture what you want to remember for the rest of your life. Thank you Pam!!!

Review for À La Vie Photography

Reviewed On 5/10/2010 Jillian B
Pam Hults is amazing I loved everything about her and her photos.